From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SCXI-1581 reading bad temperatures

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am a summer intern and I'm trying to find some help with the SCXI-1581 module. We had a major failure while testing a motor and it damaged some of the test equipment. We replaced everything that appeared to be damaged and tried to reboot the test system. Everything worked fine except for this module. I am using a 100 ohm RTD to test the various channels and I am getting a consistent wrong temperature. Instead of the 26 to 27 celcius ambient temperature, I am getting -243 to -244 celcius. It seems as if there might be a scaling factor that is causing the temperatures to record these low values.

As part of my troubleshooting process I took the SCXI-1581 module out the damaged test machine and replaced it with the same module from another machine. The temperature readings read properly for all the channels I tested. I then took the good module and put it back in the working machine and it still read appropriate temperatures. With that little check done I took the bad module and placed it in the working machine and ended up reading bad temperatures. At this point I had concluded that the module must be bad and replaced the good module back in the working machine. As a final check I tested the temperatures again and now the good module is reading the same bad temperatures as the other module.