Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

smooth motion of many line moves

I'm still very new to LV, so please do correct me if it seems that I have misunderstood something.

My goal is to control 3 Servos with a crio 9074, the servos are connected each to an akd drive. The commands for the drives stem from a text file and are in a gcode format and thus have to be interpreted.

At the moment I am finding it difficult to map out which task should run on what device (RTOS, FPGA).
By clearing some of the following questions, I hope to solve this problem.

1) Even though the move commands are many consecutive straight line moves which should result in a continues motion, I'm not sure how to implement that in softmotion. As far as I have understood the concept of a straight line move the drive will accelerate with given jerk, acceleration values (forming an S-curve ) until the max speed is reached ( if at all) and then decelerate to a halt reaching the set endpoint.
Q1) Would this result in a start stop kind of movement if I were to execute many line moves after one another?

Q2) Is there a way to circumvent the deceleration process and use the give limits of acc. and jerk to achieve continues movement by concatenating line moves? 

Q3) Is blend at deceleration what I'm looking for?
Q4) Does the Note at the end of the page refere to a comple direction change of one axis ( eg. move 1 in positive x direction and move 2 in negative x direction)

Alternativly I found contoured moves. But I'm not sure how these handle my constraints of max acc. , max jerk, max, speed. The page on contoured moves states:
"However, the NI Motion Assistant prototyping tool can remap a user-defined trajectory based on specified move constraints, preserving move characteristics and move geometry." 

But I'm not quite sure what is meant by that.  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,661 Views)

Hi schpongo,