LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to check if file has right extension(file type), if true, pass it along

Hi,

I am extremely new at LabVIEW programming and wish to implement a basic read file from text file.

So far I have this set up:

basic.PNG

I got the compound arithmetic function to output true for both conditions, but I am confused as to how with that boolean condition to make the program pass along the file.

In addition, is there a function to read incoming text files with numerous columns and fix the spacing between columns to be read into an array and utilized? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,456 Views)

I don't understand what you mean by "as to how with that boolean condition to make the program pass along the file.".

I don't understand what you mean by " fix the spacing between columns to be read into an array and utilized", but if you want to read a text file with data formatted into columns, use Read from Spreadsheet File.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,447 Views)

Sorry I wasn't clear with my first post.

What I meant by "as to how with that boolean condition to make the program pass along the file" is when a user selects a file from the browser button, my program will check if it's an existing file and also if it has the right extension (which is a .txt file), if both conditions hold true, then the program will continue with that file and pass it along to be used for other functions. 

"fix the spacing between columns to be read into an array and then utilized" is meant by fixing the spacing between columns of data in a txt file. Some of the columns have 2 spacing between and others have 4 spacing between them. I wish to make them one spacing apart, in other words, to manipulate the incoming text file so it's easier to be read by the program into an array.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(5,443 Views)

@TeddyLu wrote: