cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Some basic questions about TestStand

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to test stand and have just finished my first sequence. I have a couple of questions about how to make it better.

My sequence has about 100 steps it executes. One of the steps that occur quite frequently is a pause so that the previous VI output can take affect. At the moment I'm just using a VI with a that takes an integer as an input and pauses for that amount of time. Is there a more elegant way of doing this?

Another VI that I am using logs some data and is run every 6th step or so. The only difference between each run is a path parameter for the log fill to be outputted. I'd like the sequence to be as neat and tidy as possible. Is there any clever way of shorting the number of steps down?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,244 Views)

Hi,

There is a Wait step type in TestStand, it would be better to use it instead of a LabVIEW VI.

Your sequence contains 100 steps, have you considered using subsequences?It would be neater.

What are you loggin?

regards,

Rodéric L
Certified LabVIEW Architect
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,237 Views)

Thank you for your answers!

Great, I'll use the wait step then.

I'm already using subsequences in some cases. If there are several of the same VI executing, but with different parameters, but mostly I have sequences that go something like this:

Move the servos to some position

pause

Log type A in file 1

pause

Log type B in file 2

move servo

Log type A in file 3

pause

Log type A in file 4

log type B in file 5

and so forth.

There are 2 logging VIs, they both take 1 parameter, then there is the pause and move servos VI.

Can you think of any way of making this type of setup neat?

I'm logging data from a gyro.

Thanks again!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,230 Views)

I don't like the way you are loggin results (My opinion is a single file would be clearer)

Rodéric L