Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Omega CN7500 communication (ASCII protocol)

I am in a lab doing a summer internship and need help communicating with an Omega CN7500. I have been searching on the internet for the past few days looking up ASCII protocol and trying to use the manual that comes with the device but I have had no luck learning how to communicating with it on my own. I found a VI that tells me a process value and a set value (attached) which is a start but I also need to be able to change the set value and PID settings which I am having a very hard time learning how to do. I am a chemical engineer so I am not well versed in computer science at all which is what this project is turning out to be. I really need someone to break down the the ASCII protocol for me and can show me how to effectively communicate the set value and PID settings to the device using the VISA serial options in LabVIEW.

Message 1 of 38
(7,260 Views)

This is not so much computer science as control engineering (about which a chemical engineer should learn the basics).  It may also be about Omega's documentation. 

I have never used the CN7500 but some of Omega's other devices have horribly poorly written documentation.  Even someone who knows how the stuff works can have a hard time figuring out exactly what needs to be done.

Some suggestions:

1. Move the Configure and Close VIs outside the loop.  Only configure and close once. Write and read as often as you need inside the loop.

2. Unless that is the only command you will ever use, you need to determine how they calculate the checksum and create a subVI to do it.  If you change any character in the command string, the checksum will change.

3. Does the CN7500 allow remote conrol of the setpoint and PID parameters? Some Omega devices are read-only.