Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIB-USB and Matlab

Hi there,

I would like to use Matlab for current measurement and control of a Keithely 6517-A using a laptop and NI GPIB-USB-HS. I have NI 488.2 installed on my computer and I just wanna know how can I communicate with the instrument using Matlab.

As it is obvious I am new with both NI and Matlab DAQ toolbox 😉

Message 1 of 51
(27,231 Views)
Hey arkadash,

Unfortunately, our GPIB driver does not offer direct communication in Matlab, but it does contain DLLs that you can use. If MatLab can call DLLs then you can use the driver in this way to communicate directly with these DLL files in Matlab. Unfortunately, I do not know how Matlab uses DLLs, so in order to get help with calling them, you may need to contact their support team. If you have the option of using LabVIEW, communication with NI GPIB cards is very easy and with a few clicks, you can have instant communication with your GPIB Instruments.

I hope this helps,

Regards,
Jason W
Application Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 51
(27,183 Views)
Arkadash,
 I have been using the GPIB USB HS and B for sometime in windows XP with matlab. You need the instrument control toolbox not the daq toolbox. works great. I had to install the NI drivers and setup up the GPIB USB with a "board" address of 0. I talk to several different instruments including keithley 2000A.

once you get the instrument control toolbox look up the "gpib" command in matlab's help. you then use fopen, fprintf and scanf to open, write and read data. one last peice of advice, if you have an error inside a function that is open and closing the gpib connection and you do not close the gpib connection it does not always work again until you restart matlab. i suggest using try/catch blocks and closing things off if there is an error.