From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

VirtualBench

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VirtualBench C API Getting started - Are there examples/documentation somewhere?

I am new to VirtualBench and I saw that there is a C API but cannot find much about it online or any documentation.  Maybe I am just looking in the wrong place.  I have the latest driver installed on my machine.  Is there an example program and documentation somewhere?  Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(8,812 Views)

Hi Ejo,

If you install ANSI C support during the NI-VirtualBench driver install, after the install completes you should find a VirtualBench C Reference Help.chm at C:\Users\Public\Documents\National Instruments\VirtualBench Documentation as well as example programs at C:\Users\Public\Documents\National Instruments\VirtualBench ANSI C Examples.

If you don't see these files currently, you can go to Control Panel >> Programs and Features >> National Instruments Software, find the VirtualBench ADE Support, and do a modify install.

Hope that helps!

Michael Keane
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(8,783 Views)

Thank you, I found the examples, but I am having trouble getting them to compile.  Can you point me to the location of the nivirtualbench.h file?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(8,740 Views)

I have found the nivirtualbench.h file under C:\Program Files (x86)\National Instruments\Shared\ExternalCompilerSupport\C

But I still cannot get the example to compile, specifically, niVB_Dig_Example.c

I created a new project in eclipse, pointed it to the correct .h files now, but I am still getting this error:
relocation truncated to fit: R_X86_64_PC32 against undefined symbol `niVB_Dig_Close' niVB_Dig_Example line 0 C/C++ Problem