USRP Software Radio

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USRP 2954R Tx Underflow at IQ-Rates >50MHz

Hey,

I'am new to the USRP topic and I started playing around with the hardware which i mentioned in the subject field.

In a first attempt I just try to generate a Chirp signal which i wann to send over the TX front end to a beam antenna. (At the end of my project i wann a realize a radar application with the USRP...)

Unfortunatelly I got an error message which says that iam running into an TX underflow... I allready tried different solutions which where recommended at this forum like changing the registry entry "FastSendDatagramThreshold" to 1500, add a Time Trigger, higher the array size of the input samples and so on...

I could improve the possible IQ sampling rate from 10MSps at the beginning to 50MSps with changing the thinks mentioned above. But actually I like to use the full bandwidth of the device and obtain a sampling rate of 200MSps. At the moment thats not possible.

I'am using following hardware:

Host PC: NI PXIe-1071

USRP: NI USRP-2954R

Connection Host-USRP: NI PXIe8374 x4

I also attach my code.

Perhaps you can help me and give me some hints. Thank you in advance!

Greetings,

Tobias

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,987 Views)

Hi TobiSt90,

Which driver API are you using? the niUSRP API, or the USRP-RIO API? It's a bit confusing, but one is host-only, while the other uses the FPGA on the device. If you based your code off of the sample streaming project, for instance, you are using the USRP-RIO API. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,924 Views)

Hey Muffin,

at the moment i use the niUSRP API. Does it mean that when I use this API the FPGA on the USRP isnt in use? I thought that the FPGA is the "interface" between the frontend and the host pc and runs in the background with a standard bitfile similiar to the simple streaming one. Is there any hardware limitation (sampling rate, etc...) when I only use the niUSRP API?

Thank you!