USRP Software Radio

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Could I sweep across multiple modulation schemes (FM, AM), while changing the frequency at which I want to transmit at?

The idea is to build a multi-platform warning system that will be able to transmit a warning message to different devices. It includes FM radio, AM radio and even a UHF radio using multiple modulation schemes. for example (FM, AM ). The idea I have in mind is to sweep across of different frequencies while changing it modulations. I'm a newbie, so this is my first time using software define radio.

1. Could I be able to change modulation while transmitting?(for this project i will be using USRP-2920 unit

2. lastly is there any examples or places that I could information related to this topic?

Any resources or feedback would be very appreciated.

Thank you very much.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,611 Views)

Hello GuilleTech17,

Would you need to be transmitting continuously? Or could you transmit with one modulation scheme for a set frequency range, stop and reset your modulation scheme and then transmit over the new frequency range? Is there a specific reason for your application that you would need to change the modulation scheme in the middle of a transmission?

Are you using NI Modulation Toolkit? If so, then you will have access to examples for FM and AM modulation schemes. Otherwise, there are some examples in our community examples that may be applicable.

In terms of frequency sweeping, I will point you towards this other forum as a starting point: How to switch central frequency fastly with labview and USRP?

I wish you the best of luck on your project!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,576 Views)

Hello Best.West, thanks for the reply.