Switch Hardware and Software

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

visa cannot currently access it error

I'm new to the LabVIEW. I connected the NI instrument simulator to the serial port of PC. I opened MAX and clicked on COM1 and opened VISA test panel and clicked on "Validate" and got the following error:

Could not open a VISA session to "ASRL1::INSTR"
VISA error code 0xBFFF0072
The resource is valid, but VISA cannot currently access it.

The setting of the NI instrument simulator was as follows:
Baud rate : 9600
Data bits: 8
Parity: None
Stop bits: 1
Flow control: None.

Anyone know what was wrong?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(30,205 Views)
On the VISA Test Panel, I clicked on the "Write" and the Return Count was 6 and Return Status was 0. But for Read, Return Status is "BFFF0015".

I tried on the another PC, the Baud rate displayed 115200 but the other machine displayed 9600.

Any clue what could be wrong?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(30,197 Views)
Are you an administrator? What version of NI-VISA are you using? Does NI-SPY work?

Logan S.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(30,182 Views)

No I'm not adminstrator. I'm a newcomer to LabVIEW. I'm learning LabVIEW from LV Basic I CD. There's a exercise about serial communication but there are no demo for it. I used the example Basic Serial Write and Read.vi but got

Error -1073807246 occurred at Property Node (arg 1) in VISA Configure Serial Port (Instr).vi->Basic Serial Write and Read.vi

Possible reason(s):

VISA:  (Hex 0xBFFF0072) The resource is valid, but VISA cannot currently access it.

When I tried HyperTerminal I did see echo typed character. I don't know NISpay.

Setting I used:

baud: 9600

data bits: 8

parity: none

stop bits: 1

flow control: hardware

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 21
(30,183 Views)
I'm using VISA 3.4.1 and LabVIEW 8.
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 21
(30,176 Views)
I'm using VISA 3.4.1 and LabVIEW 8.
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 21
(30,176 Views)
Output from NI Spy: