Switch Hardware and Software

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

visa cannot currently access it error

The cable I used before was not null modem cable. Now it works. Thanks a lot!
Message 11 of 21
(19,338 Views)

I am a project student and I'm very new to LabVIEW 8. My device is using a MSP430F169 microcontroller to run a program using a software, IAR Embedded Workbench IDE though RS232 cable (Connected to COM 1) and display the output using LabVIEW. I'm using the example given in LabVIEW (Basic Serial Write and Read.vi).

Error message when i click on Validate:

Could not open a VISA session to "ASRL1::INSTR".

VISA error code 0xBFFF0072.

The resource is valid, but VISA cannot currently access it.

Under Device Status:

VISA returned this device when finding resources, and MAX could use VISA to parse the resource name.  The resource is busy, so MAX could not succesfully open a VISA session to the device.

Does anyone know what is the problem? Is it the connection between VISA and my device? the Programming is not compatibale or Configuration of LabVIEW?

Please Help~ Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 12 of 21
(18,931 Views)

Hi 8500,

It sounds like the serial port you are trying to configure is in use already.  I would make sure no other application is trying to access that port.

Also, please keep in mind that posting at the end of another discussion forum will not get as much attention as posting a new discussion forum.  In the future, you'll receive a more precise and expedient answer by posting topics such as this one in the LabVIEW or Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI) boards - http://forums.ni.com/ni/board?board.id=140

Best regards,

Chad Erickson
Switch Product Support Engineer
NI - USA

Message 13 of 21
(18,928 Views)

Oh Thanks alot Chad PSE, Thanks for the advise. Merry Christmas~ Smiley Very Happy

Regards,

XiuHuan (8500)

Student of Nanyang Polytechnic

Singapore

0 Kudos
Message 14 of 21
(18,917 Views)

Hello AW#$,