Switch Hardware and Software

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

labview programmable relay switch

Hello,

I have an experiment where a controller probe needs to be switched on/off to take measurement every 30 seconds or so. It is right now a mechanical switch that needs to be flipped on/off. I'm pretty new to switches and I dont know if there exists one but I'm trying to look for a relay switch that can be programmed and controlled via LabView so that I can automate the process. The switch should be done in real time and needs to be able to control up to 3 separate switches. It doesnt has to be one made by NI, it could be from other companies too. 

Thank you,

Max 

Message Edited by oioi on 11-18-2008 01:50 PM
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 29
(14,202 Views)

oioi,

There are several possibilities:

• Use an NI PXI or SCXI relay switch.  These are easy to integrate with LabVIEW, thanks to the NI Switch driver.  You can browse our Switches Product Page and choose your desired specifications to browse our various switch modules.
  • Use a TTL controlled external relay switch.  This will require you to configure your DAQ card to send the correct TTL signal on one of the digital lines.  You can send these commands in LabVIEW, but you'll need to pick a switch that works the both the specifications of your probe and the TTL setting of your DAQ card.

I hope one of these options will fit your application.
Seth B.
Principal Test Engineer | National Instruments
Certified LabVIEW Architect
Certified TestStand Architect
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 29
(14,186 Views)

Hi Max,

I would like to add to Seth's first suggestion:

• Use an NI PXI or SCXI relay switch.  These are easy to integrate with LabVIEW, thanks to the NI Switch driver.  You can browse our Switches Product Page and choose your desired specifications to browse our various switch modules.