SignalExpress

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read data from serial port and log it

Hi there!

I have no experience dealing with Signalexpress

Im trying to read data from serial port COM2.

I would like to colect data and log it with signal express. 

Here you told me that I can do so if it is IVI.

Well my instrument is multipoint measuring unit HBM UPM60 

I was looking for drivers here and I saw for HBM DMC, MGC and MGC Plus. but not for mine. 

My goal is to colect data from that amplifier by serial port.  

Thanks in advance

Signal Express 2011, WinXP, NI PCI 6221, Ni cDAQ 9174, Ni 9235
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(7,814 Views)

Hello janek81,

First of all, to use SignalExpress with a 3rd party instrument it is necessary to have the IVI-C driver properly installed in your computer. IVI-COM drivers are not accepted:

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/D60A2DAF68E1FCAE862572A400058DC3?OpenDocument

After that, you will see your device in MAX and you only need to insert a IVI Step in SignalExpress and follow steps you can find in this link:

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/589469164F1FCC0F86256FFF007368AD?OpenDocument

Regards.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(7,794 Views)

LabView SignalExpress 2013 (LVSE13) can run IVI-C only if the instrument is either a DMM or SCOPE.  So, a DMM that is connected via serial port and has a IVI-C published specific to that DMM should run in LVSE13.  However, no IVI-C for the serial port "instrument" alone can run in LVSE13 since such an instrument is neither a DMM nor SCOPE.  It matters not that an IVI-C for serial com port is available for LV, or VISA, or any other NI platform.