From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

SignalExpress

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPS Timestamp

I’m a LabView and SignalExpress novice so I thought I’d try this forum before trying the LabView forum.

I’m trying to acquire analog data with a GPS time stamp.  My application requires that I acquire approximately 10 hours of data at a rate of 500kS/s.  The system is a PXI1000B containing 2X5922 cards and a 6682 card.  Due to the long duration of the collect I’d like to account for any drift in the sample clock.

I can see two options.

1.                  1.  Use a NI-SCOPE Acquire step with a corresponding step to get a GPS timestamp for each read length of data (I’ve set it to 512000).  This might not work as there is no            step for GPS functions.

2.                  2.  Using a SMB cable route the CLK OUT from the 6682 to the CLK IN on the 5922.  Choose CLK IN on NI-SCOPE acquire – Advanced TAB.  This seems too simple.

Again I’m a novice so any advice or help is appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(6,529 Views)

Option 2 should get you where you need to go.  You have a lot more options in LabVIEW, where you should be able to fully synchronize clocks and triggers of both 5922s and the 6682 using the backplane triggering lines.  Due to the complexity of supporting all combinations of all hardware SignalExpress can use, SignalExpress does not currently support all these modes.  It is a problem we are well aware of, but not one we can easily solve.

Let us know if you need more help.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(6,518 Views)

Thank you for the quick response.