SignalExpress

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Distributing with Microsoft Application Virtualization (App-V)

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a student staff member at the University of Wisconsin's Madison campus.  This summer we are finally migrating from using Novell's network distribution system to Microsoft's Application Virtualization (App-V, formerly Softgrid).  We combine this with a network share for each student and FlexLM licensing to permit students to migrate from one lab computer to the next without loosing access to their files.

When attempting to install LabVIEW and SignalExpress, all applications seem to run perfectly fine on the sequencing machine.  However, when we try to execute the programs on a lab machine, SignalExpress fails to launch.  It states there is a configuration error and that reinstalling the software may solve the problem.  We have narrowed down the issue to SignalExpress alone (as we did an custom install and made sure the ONLY product selected was the SignalExpress and nothing else - no additional options nor any of the other programs available).

I am wondering if anyone has any success in distributing SignalExpress with App-V?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(7,135 Views)

Hi,

There is not really any documented case of Signal Express failing with any virtualization programs. You might want to check your installation of Signal Express on your main machine and see if it is activated properly under NI License Manager. 

Ipshita C.

National Instruments
Applications Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(7,124 Views)

Sorry, I wasn't very clear in my original post.  During the act of sequencing the application launches just fine for packetization.  Once sequencing is completed on the XP VMWare image, that local shortcut works and the application launches just fine.