From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

SignalExpress

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Different spectrum from signalexpress with oscilloscope

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to signal processing. I am facing some difficulties in measuring the signal from an acoustic emission sensor for my project. I am using PXI-6115 with 1042Q and terminal block is TB2708. I used AI0 and AI1 for main signal and trigger respectively. I acquired signal from 6115 in SignalExpress (v3.0) and convert to linear spectrum (Hanning window and RMS conversion) with RMS averaging at 200. Same settings are used in oscilloscope (LeCroy LC564DL) too. I connected both signals to oscilloscope as well for comparison. I saved the spectrum data from SignalExpress and oscilloscope and plotted. You can see the graph in attachment. It is totally different. Why is that so?

And one more thing is if I disconnect my connector to NI DAQ system, the spectrum in oscilloscope changed in magnitude at certain frequency and vice versa.

Thank you in advance.

Myo

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(7,396 Views)

Hi,

I forgot to mention that rate is 2MHz and samples to read is 100k for both.

Myo

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(7,395 Views)
It appears your X-axis units are different.  I would guess the SignalExpress one is in dB (relative log scale) and the oscilloscope one is linear.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(7,386 Views)

Thanks for reply, DFGray.

No. I set linear scale in SignalExpress with magnitude setting. I don't know what makes them different.

myo

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(7,363 Views)

Here are a few things to look for: