From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Signal Generators

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to send a pulse signal with specific frequency with PXI-5412

Hi,

This might be a silly question since I'm still new to Labview...

I'm trying to control a PXI-5412 function generator to send a pulse signal (say 10 cycles, repetion time 10ms) to our ultrasound transducer. I need to assign a specific frequency to the sine wave I generate (like 1.055MHz). I assumed that I should use the arbitrary sequence waveform in the output mode, then generate a waveform combined with a sine wave and a period of DC, then make the loop count to 10, so I can get the pulse signal. 

I checked the examples in NI called "Basic Arb Sequence", which can do what I want, however, the way they design the signal is by # of points, not frequency... the vi called "Sine Wave [NI_AALBase.lvlib]" has two control terminals: # of points and frequency, I don't know how this work...

So, my question is, can anyone help me figure out how to assign a specific frequency to the signal when I use the arbitrary sequence waveform to generate a pulse signal? or is there any other way can complete this task??

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,114 Views)

Hi.

Looks like the sample rate would be set using niFgen Set Sample Rate.vi.  In my LV 2013, this VI is located in Functions >> Instrument I/O >> Instrument Drivers >> NI-FGEN >> Configuration >> Clock >> Configure Clock >> niFgen Set Sample Rate.vi.  Also, review the help documentation for this function to see how it is used.

Wayne T. | Application Engineer | National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(6,097 Views)

Hi Wayne,