Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sub array from a waveform array and Moving Average of consecutive ms window.

Hello, 

I am simulating a sine wave (with noise), 1000hz sampling, number of samples = 100. 

Suppose I run 1 minute (60000ms) I would like to average the signal every 100ms. that is, average the signal from 0-100, 100-200... (running average). 

I have stored the data from the simulated signal into an n dimention array. How do I divide it into sub-arrays, each containing data of 100ms and average the sub arrays individually?

or

I wanted to use a shift register which could allow me to store the 100ms worth of signal, average that and then move on to the next 100ms for averaging in a loop , as I am fairly new to LABVIEW, Im sort of lost as to how to go about it. 

Please help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(7,128 Views)

Use Reshape Array to turn it into a 2D array.  You can then use a FOR loop with autoindexing to get your means.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(7,124 Views)

Dear Crossrulz, 

Thank you for your replies, they've been extremely helpful. 

I did have a couple of questions, however

1.Why cant I see a smooth sine curve? am I doing something wrong?? I see a straight line when its being averaged.

2. On opening the excel file (through add-ins) No values are written down, I get black columns and rows, but a file for each run is generated. 

Also, I tried another way, (screen shot attached) when  I run the code, the y axis of the time keeps changing, but I dont see a graph. ??

Please Help. 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(7,114 Views)

This is the VI with the Averaged signal. 

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(7,112 Views)

Look at what that VI does: