cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

phase difference for LabView

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi guys,

I need help in this program that I'm writing. I am trying to calculate the phase difference between two different simulated sine waves. I have searched online and I have found out that I could do that by using Extract Single Tone Information and subtracting one phase from the other. However, I have trouble connecting the wires and I am unsure why it is not connecting properly. Forgive me if this is a basic problem as I am new to LabView. Thank you. Attached is the program.

aclx

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(8,399 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author aclx

aclx,

It would probably be better if you posted your question to the LabVIEW Board rather than the Signal Conditioning Board. This Board gets only about 1% as much traffic as the LV board and your question has nothing to do with signal conditioning.

You have two issues.

1. The (evil) Dynamic Data Type generated by the Express VIs hides all the information about what is on the wire.  It appears that the default conversion performed by the input to Extract Single Tone Information.vi was to an array of waveforms.  That results in an array of phases at the outputs. You can tell what kind of data is on a wire or why a wire is broken by hovering the wiring tool cursor over the wire with the Context Help window open.

2. The phase relationship between two signals of different frequencies is not defined. What point in time should be used as the reference?  How do acquired or simulated signals relate to that time on subsequent iterations of the loop?

The first issue can be fixed by explicitly converting the DDT to a waveform as shown below.

Phase.png

For the second issue you need to define what you mean by the phase difference of two signals of diffeent frequencies.

Lynn

Message 2 of 7
(8,355 Views)