From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SC2345 with SG04 strain gage module and PCI 6024 DAQ card

Dear all
I am a grad student and i will make a force measurement with strain gages. My setup has a model helicopter rotor which is attached on the top of a steel bar. That rotor produces very little force (say 50-150 grams). Since steel has very big elastic modulus (~210 GPa), elongations will be very small. Therefore, i need to measure very little elongations.

I have SC2345 signal conditioner which is connected to PCI 6024 DAQ card and i use SG04 modules. I read a very little noisy signal which is impossible to calibrate in Labview. I am using a full bridge configuration with strain gages which have 120 ohm resistance and 2.02 gage factors. I can only realize the applied force when it is above 1 kg. Therefore, my resolution is very bad right now.

My questions

1) Can i measure these small forces (50-150 grams) with the equipments mentioned above?

2) Should i amplify my signal? If yes, how?

3) Do u have any suggestions and further improvements?

Best regards
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,545 Views)

In order to know if your equipment is able to measure the forces, we need to know what amount of voltage is being output.  Once the expected output of the strain gage is known, it will be easier to determine how to amplify the device because you will have a better idea of the expected signal.

Kelli Kravetz
Product Marketing Manager
LabVIEW, LabVIEW NXG, LabWindows/CVI, Measurement Studio
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,496 Views)