From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Monitor fan speed using optic sensors. Advise

Dear Sirs:

I'm new to DAQ and currently working on an implementation based on FieldPoint.

Basically I have to monitor the speed of 12 fans on a machine. Each fan is about 80cm diameter and runs at no more than 1800 RPM. Looking at its axis, it seems there is no way to place a disc to implement a magnetic sensor.

I guess that my alternative is to place an optic sensor. And I should mention that I don't have much knowledge on this matter.

That is why I'm asking any of your kind help that guides me to choose the appropiate solution.

Here there are the requeriments that the system must consider:

* 1800 RPM max. (It can seem I would need to take 1800/60 = 30 samples per second. Optic sensors can read this frecuen
cy?)
* I think I can place a reflective tape on one of the six fan'wings which by the way are plastic and black.
* The system has a temp of 40oC and some dust can be present. Cleaning can be necessary.
* As I would use a FieldPoint DI-301 to get the signals, I guess I should get PNP sensors.
* I have access to a power supply for 12VDC, 24VDC, 220AC, and others if necessary.
* My major restriction is cost: Each machine has 12 fans to monitor, and there are 24 machines on the field!

I will appreciate any help on this matter. What other considerations should be taken? Which is a good source to find the sensors on the market?

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Mauricio Vidal
Mauricio Vidal
VIDAL & ASTUDILLO Ltda.
http://www.vidalastudillo.com
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,100 Views)
Hello,