Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQCard 1200 / SC-2043-SG - Other Analogue Sensor Inputs?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello!

I am relatively new to these things, so sorry for any ignorance Smiley Happy

I have a self designed servo-hydraulic structural test rig with a load cell and displacement sensor on the hydraulic cylinder.

Signals from both these sensors are inputted via a CB 50LP connector board and then a DAQCard 1200 to a PC using a Labview 6i program, through pins 1 and 2.

I also have an in-house made strain gauge signal box that inputs to pins 3, 4, 5 & 6.

The DAQ card is using NRSE.

Now, this all worked fine for years, but now the in-house strain gauge board is kaput, so I am trying to connect up a SC-2043-SG that we have instead of the kaput inhouse board and the CB 50LP.

I have read the DAQ Card and SC-2043-SG manuals, and pretty much understand what I have to do, but....

Page 3.6 in the manual says, "Pins 1-8: Analog Input Channels 0 through 7—These pins carry the conditioned strain gauge bridge signals (referenced to AISENSE) to the DAQ board. They are not routed to screw terminals."

So my problem is, how can I connect the first two analogue channels (pins 1 & 2) to my load cell and displacement transducer, whilst using pins 3 to 8 for the strain gauges, with the SC-2043-SG?

I though I could just cut the 1 & 2 wires of the ribbon connector from the DAQ card to the SC-2043-SG and connect them directly to the sensors (and then not use strain gauge channels 1 & 2 on the SC-2043-SG), but am not sure if this would work / have any unwanted implications.

Would this be OK, or is there an easier, neater way?

Thanks

Bife

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(6,525 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Bife

Hi Bife,

The SC-2043 is designed for strain gauge only, so you can't connect basic voltage signals.
It is true that you can cut the cable in order to provide your own signals to the DAQ card.