NI Home > Community > NI Discussion Forums

Real-Time and Control Applications

Reply
Member
horatioinc
Posts: 6
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

Casey,

    Thank you very much for your help.  I will continue to study and educate myself on the cRIO system.  You have given me some good starting pointers. I'll let you know how it goes.

Trusted Enthusiast
BruceAmmons
Posts: 2,381
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

Christian,

 

I downloaded both versions of the rtadu, but the installer crashes right after I start it.  I get an error message "The instruction at 0x00a92a50 referenced memory at 0x00000000.  The memory could not be read."  I also tried to install the AMC tools, but got the same error.  It appears to be common to several NI installers.

 

I am running Win7 x64.  Could that be my problem?  Is there a solution?

 

Thanks,

 

Bruce

Bruce Ammons
Ammons Engineering
Active Participant
Christian_L
Posts: 644
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

Bruce,

 

I'm not sure what is going on. One of the other engineers in my group just tested the AMC installer on Win7 x64 and installed without any problems. I attached the compiled version of the utility for you to use in the mean time.

 

 

Christian Loew, CLA
Principal Systems Engineer, National Instruments
Please tip your answer providers with kudos.
Trusted Enthusiast
BruceAmmons
Posts: 2,381
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

I am not sure what is going on either.  Since my last post, I discovered I can't run any NI installation packages, not even the ones I ran a few days ago to install LabVIEW and all the other stuff on my new computer.  Something has become corrupted, and I am in the process of trying to figure out what it is.

 

Thanks for posting the zipped version.  I will use that until I figure out what is wrong with my computer.

 

Bruce

Bruce Ammons
Ammons Engineering
Trusted Enthusiast
BruceAmmons
Posts: 2,381
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

I discovered that my NI installations were corrupted when I adjusted the partitions on my hard drive.  I thought they were fixed, but I couldn't run the installation packages.  I think the installation was trying to read information about all the installed software and crashed when trying to read the corrupted files.  After uninstalling and reinstalling ALL my NI software, everything is working fine.  I installed the AMC and RTADU.

 

My only complaint about the zipped version you posted the other day:  When you load the program, the list of files on the right defaults to scrolled down several entries.  Until you scroll up, you don't realize there are any files listed.  It took me a minute to figure out why the image I created earlier was not displayed.

 

Thanks,

 

Bruce

Bruce Ammons
Ammons Engineering
Active Participant
sachsm
Posts: 767
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

I am using the native RT replication vi's for my cRIO targets with 9144 extension chassis running the LV2009 scan engine.

I am finding that all files are being copied but for some reason the scan engine will not start up properly once the target

has been replicated.  All IOV's and NSV's appear in the DSM and NSV's all have correct default values.

I am wondering if I need to copy the FPGA image as well or force the project to rebuild the scan engine IP?

 

Any Suggestions?

Member
clendon.gibson@canrig.com
Posts: 41
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

Hello everyone,

 

I have an RT Deployment question and this seems to be the place to come for that.

 

Is it possible to change the IP address with the "Set IP Address.vi" of a cRIO target that has been locked?

 

The Set IP Address.vi does not have a place to give a password like set image does, but it also seems not to work for mesince I password protected the cRIO.

 

Thanks!

Active Participant
Christian_L
Posts: 644
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

Clendon,

 

Which version of LabVIEW are you using? LabVIEW 2009 and later includes VIs to lock and unlock cRIO target programmatically. They also include updated VIs for creating and deploying RT application images.

 

The reason that the RT System Replication tools (LabVIEW 8.x) include support for the password on the Set Image VI, but not Set IP Address VI is that they use different protocols and at the time we did not have the necessary VIs in place to add Lock/Unlock through the protocol necessary for Set IP Address. Set Image uses the FTP VIs under the hood and they already included password support at the time.

 


 


Christian Loew, CLA
Principal Systems Engineer, National Instruments
Please tip your answer providers with kudos.
Member
clendon.gibson@canrig.com
Posts: 41
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment

Hi Christian,

 

I had done some initial development on LV 8.5, but migrated to LV 2009. I observed this issue on a 2009 setup.

 

So I need to unlock the cRIO, change the IP address, then relock it with the VIs new in 2009?

Active Participant
Christian_L
Posts: 644
0 Kudos

Re: LabVIEW Real-Time Application Deployment


clendon.gibson@canrig.com wrote:
 

So I need to unlock the cRIO, change the IP address, then relock it with the VIs new in 2009?


That is correct.

 

Christian Loew, CLA
Principal Systems Engineer, National Instruments
Please tip your answer providers with kudos.