From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sbRIO 9636 FIFO questions

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Realtime/Embedded part of Labview and I'm just starting to play around with the RIO evaluation kit.

I came across a phenomenon that I cannot understand... So maybe it's a stupid thing, so I apologize in advance.

I create a FIFO on the FPGA target (configured to Traget-to-Host DMA) and put 5Million UINT16 values into it from an FPGA loop, as fast as possible. Now, surprisingly, I can read it either with a VI on the realtime chasis, but also with an identical VI situated on the PC host, even with similar performance.

I actually don't understand where the data is buffered and how the PC can access it. I thoght the memory of the DMA-FIFO must be on the RT-target, right? So how does the data come to the PC without a RT-VI? I suppose this method of data transfer (FPGA-to-PC) is not proper use of the FIFO, right?

Moreover, when I check the "Elements remainig" property of the FIFO in the PC-VI or RT-VI, I get numbers around 8000, up to 10000, although the FIFO is configured to have 1023 elements only.

How is this possible?

(Btw.: I do realize that I loose lots of data and the FIFO is to small. Yet, I first want to understand the above points).

The Project is attached as ZIP.

Best regards, and thanks for your efforts,

Joe

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(4,507 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author dr_house82

Hey Joe,

NI provides a service which is called NI RIO Server. This service is installed with LabVIEW RealTime on your RealTime target and makes it possible to connect to the FPGA of the cRIO/sbRIO from an computer.