Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to make continuous data acquisition using compactRIO NI 9237

Hi

I have 2 doubts. The first is that i am measuring force using load cell connected to NI 9237 and compactRIO controller is NI 9104.
I have run the example VI which is found in the CompactRIO /module specific 9327 Getting Started project.
When i run the host VI, the VI just runs once and stops. that is it gives 4095 samples which is specified in the VI . So when i apply force, i see the 4095 values in one shot and the VI stops. I want the VI to run continuously. I should be able to see the values changing as the force is varied. how should i do this.

Secondly, i have to integrate this cRIO NI 9237 with NI  cRIO NI 9215 (9215 reads from LVDT) . Shoould I use just one FPGA target VI and call both module Analog inputs in the same place/sequence. or should the AI nodes be place in different places.

i am new to LabVIEW Real Time, so i need some info on the interrupt and synchronization part , any info links on this would help.

thank you, Hema 
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(10,796 Views)
Hi Hema,
You can modify the FPGA code in the NI 9237 Getting Started (FPGA).vi, and put the data collection in a while loop to collect data continuously.
You can only run one FPGA program at once, so you can only have one main VI under your FPGA target.  Where to put your AI nodes is up to the architecture in your program, but everything has to be called from the main VI on your FPGA target.
If you are new to FPGA, the LabVIEW FPGA help is excellent, and you can get a lot of information from there to get you started.

Yi Y.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
http://www.ni.com/support
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(10,732 Views)
Hi Yi Ya,