cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thermocouple Readings from CRIO

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am fairly new to working with Compact RIO and I am having problems with thermocouples that I have connected. My setup has two thermocouple modules, the NI 9213 and NI 9211.

I have connected a Type K thermocouple (one each) to both of the units. I have used the FPGA Target vi to read from the Thermocouple channels together with the CJC and Autozero values of both the modules. I also have CRIO vi that references the FPGA vi and then uses the values and feeds them to the "Convert Voltage to Temperature.vi". I have attached screenshots of both the vi's.

The problem is the output I am receiving is -2 or 1 degree. When I touch the thermocouple the value increses to around 5 or 8 degrees.  The room temperature is around 24 degrees.

Can someone please help with where I am going wrong.

regards

Harshil.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,973 Views)

Hi Harshil,

Which cRIO controller and back plane are you using? As long as you don't have a 9002 or 9004, then you can get away without programming the FPGA with CompactRIO Scan Mode, which will calibrate and scale your temperature channels for you.

If you have a chassis that only has a 1M gate FPGA, you can still use scan mode for your TC modules, see this KB:

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/122E971F52FD081A86257500007A046C?OpenDocument 

Using CompactRIO Scan Mode with LabVIEW: 

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/7338 

Kurt 

Message 2 of 7
(7,966 Views)

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

I have the cRIO-9073 chassis. 

Do I still have to use the scan mode? 

regards

Harshil.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(7,963 Views)