cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Some general question about data logger parameters

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello!

I am trying to find some cheap data logger solution (cheap mean cheaper than we are using right now). I need these parameters: sampling frequency – 10kHz, measured signal – voltage from -10V to +10V, number of channels 64 differential or more, time of one log 2sec. I have to make measurement for all channels simultaneously. It is mean, for one measurement cycle, I have to save 2sec*10kHz=20k samples for each channel, and 64 channels * 20k samples = 1 280 000 samples from all system.  First idea was try to use M-series multifunctional PXI-DAQ (because I have some experience with multifunctional DAQ and this data logger will be used simultaneously with some other PXI system, with available chassis slots). For using multifunctional DAQ for data logging I need devise with memory enough for 20k samples for each channel. All multifunctional DAQ devices which I have looked have not enough memory (512-1024 samples). After I start reading some guides from NI site, and I have found that there are no any M-series multifunctional DAQ based data loggers. After, I decide that good solution for me it is Embedded Data Logging System based on cRIO platform (between proposed options: Low-Cost Portable Data Loggers, Programmable Data Loggers, Wireless Data Loggers, Embedded Data Logging System  only last provide a lot of channels).

My first question is it adequate chooses for this data logger, or PXI platform can provide the same logging?

I have used cRIO advisor for made my own configuration of Data logger system. I have tried to use the cheapest components:  Real-Time Controller - NI cRIO-9012, CompactRIO Reconfigurable Chassis - cRIO-9111, and four Analog Input Modules - NI 9205. Is it all necessary for data logger or I need some another modules? (Like external memory or another)