From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scan Engine Rate

Hi,

I am studying for the CLED and I have a question about the scan engine rate.  The CRIO Developper's Guide still indicates that a maximum scan rate of 1kHz is possible with the scan engine.  This also seems to be reinforced in this post.  However, I spoke to an NI rep 2 years ago and, after consulting with NI's R&D, I was told that this was a myth; here is her response:

"Regarding Scan Engine loop rates, I received this information from R&D, that the 1kHz loop rate is actually a (very popular) myth:
There's no such restriction in the scan engine (1kHz max update rate) itself on any platform, it's up to the max resolution of the timer we use which is in microseconds (so 1MHz loop rate). It's usually up to the user's I/O how fast that MAX rate can be, and on a faster platform the rate could and probably should be faster than on a slower platform. But when asked for a general ball park number for how fast RSI will go, we give the following answer:

1 msec - This is a super-simplisitc, hardware-agnostic answer.  But it's the best ball park number for how fast we can go on just about all platforms.  Historical note: This number used to be a statically enforced number where you'd get a deploy error.  But that was removed some time ago.  But it is part of the reason why this number persists in people's minds.

There is a big list of things it depends on, and some of them are sometimes unexpected to the asker of the question:
* Amount of data being scanned (optimal case is a single, simple parallel DI module)
* Processing power - We have found that this matters a little less than you might think because...