Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to start a software data collection and processing?

Hello NI-Community,

I'm new to the whole area of NI, excuse me when I'm wrong here. Also I'm a german student and my english is not perfect yet. So please consider this, too.

So I'm starting a project about modifying a test bench which is mostly analog at this time. I want to develop a software (with LabVIEW) to collect data output and with it the software should regulate what is set to be, e.g. temperature. So I'll need to modify the analog thermocouple to an electrial, some DAQ-hardware and a program which I have to develop with LabVIEW to complete my system. The data that should be handled by the software are: temperatures, pressures, vibrations. Everything should be controlled with the software.

What general things do I have to know? Which DAQ could I use? Any tips on how I get a good start?

As I said this area of engineering is complety new to me, and I hope someone can help me or at least give me the right direction where I should continue my investigations. My problem so far is that the possibilities of LabVIEW etc. are so huge, that I'm kinda lost in there.

Sincerely yours

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,747 Views)

How many of each signals do you need to measure?  How are you doing the control?  What type of signal does your stimulus need?  How fast of a control algorithm do you need?  How much budget do you have?

My suggestion is to find your local NI rep and have a nice long sit down to discuss your requirements.  They are usually really good about making solid suggestions.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,732 Views)