Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I do local compile for cRIO (FPGA) on windows 10?

Im a student working with cRIO for a directed study. Im familiar with labview but not with cRIO.

When installing the FPGA software it said xilinx 14.7 was required. But then when I went to install it, it said Xilinx Compilation Tool for ISE 14.7 wasnt supported by my OS, win10. So I unselected it, not knowing if I would need it, since it seems to be some third party thing. 

Anyway, after fumbling for a while getting the cRIO to be visible to my computer I went to compile a simple bit of code. Just a front panel indicator of some I/O pin. 

I encountered the popup asking where I want to compile it, and I selected local. Then it finally let me know that it cant because of the lack of that ISE 14.7 thing. 

Or does everyone who sues the FPGA software just stuck with win7? Or am I missing something?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,079 Views)

Hi Washburn,

I think you should be able to install it on Windows 10; Are you able to install it as an administrator? Note that even if it works, as in the examples posted by some in the forum below, it may not have full functionality, as Xilinx tools are not fully supported on Windows 10, as they have not been fully tested.

http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Labview-FPGA-Module-and-Windows-10/td-p/3175937

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/52818/en/ 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,030 Views)

I am in admin mode, but I will try to launch the installed as administrator when I get home. 

Ill also take some screen shots to detail what Im seeing.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(5,024 Views)

Have you tried doing a cloud compilation? You probably have access for free, and will be your best bet moving forward on Windows 10.

See if you're eligible here:

https://users.niwsc.com/compilecloud/#/