Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FFT of analog input (NI-5781) using 7961R FlexRIO

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to LabVIEW FPGA but have worked through many examples. My goal is to do an FFT of an analog input (NI-5781 adapter module) using the Target FPGA 7961R FlexRIO and then display the frequency spectrum on the host PC. 

There is an example FFT Co-Processor under the FlexRIO examples that's very close to what I want. However, instead of writing a simulated waveform to a host-to-target FIFO, I want to get the input signal from my analog port. My approach was to 1) in the host vi, deleted the loop that sends out a simulated waveform 2) in the fpga vi, replace the Host-to-Target FIFO with a I/O Module Analog Input Node.
I gave the modifications a try but keep running into time-out errors -50400.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,573 Views)

It doesn't always run into time-out errors. When it doesn't run into the error, I see basically an empty frequency specutrum except for a really strong DC signal (low freq). 

Looking at the FPGA-to-host FIFO, there are always 15360 elements remaining. Is it possible that I'm only reading in a small amount of non-zero data?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(6,568 Views)

I've been trying to recreate this example: 

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/7088

but am running into errors when I try to compile. My FIFO IN and FIFO OUT are configured with Block memory with 1029 requested elements. 

Thoughts or ideas? Thanks. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(6,532 Views)

Hello,

The -50400 error typically means that LabVIEW cannot communicate with your FPGA board. Please see KnowledgeBase 579FLNHL for information on how to resolve this error. The FIFO problem may be related to a bug in LabVIEW FPGA, and can typically be resolved by deleting and recreating the FIFO. Does this resolve the issue? 

Julianne K