From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acquiring data from FPGA and write them to a file

Hi everybody,

I am quite new to labview and appreciate your insights on the following questions:

I need to acquire analog data from NI 9205 and digital data from NI 9401, and then write them to a friendly file for further analysis in MATLAB and also recall them for my control program

After a little exploring here and getting some suggestions, I decided to use DMA FIFO. I've attached the screenshot of the FPGA file and the PC host file here.

1- Is this a correct way of reading and writing the file?

2- Is it correct to use the "write to measurement file" inside the timed loop?

3- I saw a post on this forum (see here )where the poster used a fancy method using consumer-producer structure. Is that necessary or I can get away without using queue functions? By the way, I need to recall these data in the main VI where I need them for controlling purpose. (Position control)

So, I do not know how to recall these data.

4- Are the chosen values for "Depth" and "Timeout(ms)" fine? 24000 and 0 respectively.

Thanks,

Overwhelmed Morris

P.S: I am using LabVIEW 8.6.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(8,521 Views)

I am attaching the codes as well.

By the way, how should I decide about the number of elements(points) to read) and the FPGA period?

Thanks,

Morris

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(8,519 Views)

Hi Moris,

Check out the Logging Data to Disk tutorial in the Getting Started with CompactRIO series.

The FPGA section walks through creating a simple logging application from scratch.

Message 3 of 6
(8,493 Views)

Hello 😃