RF Measurement Devices

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Piping VST-5646R IQ Data through 7976R and out second VST-5646R

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to VSTs and have a demonstration to setup for a customer. They want to use the RX side of one VST and pipeline the IQ data through to an 7976R FPGA then pipeline the processed IQ data to a second VST's TX side. They want to compare performance between on board and pipelined FPGA processing.

One thing that the customer told me is that they were warned against putting code into the VST FPGA because there was a chance that doing this could corrupt the on board functionality of the card. How valid a concern is this? Don't the soft panels download the required IP to the VST when they are running?

Thanks,

Drew

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,599 Views)

Hi Drew,

You might want to start here: https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-30516

I believe that the stream controller IP allows you to stream to another device (like the 7976R) instead of a host PC. You should be able to use the example IP for the VSTs in your demo, streaming to and from the 7976R.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,590 Views)

OK, that's what I figured. If I get a chance, I will upload the project for you guys to check out.

So is there any validity to the concerns with the basecard functions when writing FPGA code for the VST?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,581 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Drew.Rankin

I don't think so. As long as you use the IDLs that ship with the VST (those on the FPGA interface palette), you should be safe. Nothing you can do with those will permanently mess up your VST configuration. Any corruption should be temporary. Like you mentioned, if you do begin to have problems or odd errors when working with custom bitfiles, opening and closing the RFSA/G front panel should give you a reset on any configuration settings.

Message 4 of 9
(5,578 Views)