PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pxi 8360 link light not on

Hello,

I am very new to the NI forum and the PXI. So please forgive me if my question is too trivial.

I have PXI 4461 seated in a PXI 1031 chasiss. There is a PXI 8360 interface card on the chasiss which is connect to the PCIe 8361 card on my PC. I thought it should be just a matter of connecting devices, hower, the link light is not on when I turn on the power of the PC and the chasiss. Except checking connections, do you think is there anything else I can check to understand the problem?

Thanks in advance!

H.W.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,292 Views)

Welcome to the forum! To get faster support, it's typically a good idea to answer some preliminary questions that you think others might ask - things like computer specs, driver versions, etc. 

Have you turned the equipment on in the correct order? The PXI chassis gets powered on first, then the computer.

What operating system are you running on the host computer (including service packs and 32/64-bit)? 

Do you have the PXI Platform Services driver installed?

Nathan Murphy
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(6,266 Views)

Hi Nathan,

Thanks a lot for your rely! I realize my PC has a 64-bit windows-7 OS. The platform services I installed was not working for this one. Is that true for a 64-bit windows-7 OS, I need to go back to version 2.6.3?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(6,245 Views)

Anything after version 2.5.3 is compatible with Windows 7 x64.

Has this system ever worked correctly, or is this the first time you are setting it up?

Again, please verify that you are powering the system on in the correct order: chassis first, then computer. 

Nathan Murphy
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(6,228 Views)

Hi Nathan,

Yes, the power was turned on in the correct order. I have updated the software to 4.0.1. The link light still doesn't turn on.

Do you know if there is any way to check if the PCIe card was properly installed?

Thanks again!

HW