PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Viewing PXI-8119 Controller from my Windows XP Dev Computer via MAX

Hi All

Should I be able to do this?

The PXI-8119 Controller is running WIndows 7 Professional SP1.

My development computer is a desktop PC running WIndows XP SP3 with LabVIEW 2012 SP1 installed. NI-Support advised me that I should update the DAQmx and VISA drivers, which I have done, but I still do not see it.

I can ping the PXI-8119 Controller. It is definitely on the same subnet as myself. Both computer firewalls (we are on a closed network) are off.

Why can't I see it?

I also have notice that from the only option for creating a PXI project on my development computer in LabVIEW is "Real-Time PXI". I am always unclear what NI means by Real-Time as they use it interchangably for Windows based as well as proper RT targets like cRIO. So I assume any target will do?!

I have never used a PXI chassis before and am having difficulty finding my feet with this problem.

Anybody able to help?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,882 Views)

Hi,

I don't know how to see a Windows controller from a separate dev PC, but are you willing to install LabVIEW in the PXI-8119 and do your development directly on it? I use Remote Desktop to develop on my PXI, so it still feels like I'm using my dev desktop. I find it much simpler this way, and I'd imagine that the controller is more powerful than an old Win XP machine.

Certified LabVIEW Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,840 Views)

Not really feasible. We have too many chassis to work with and the development computer does other things besides just PXI programming. And we want to keep development in one place where we have network access to configuration control, etc.

The lack of replies to this question suggests this si not how I am supposed to be using the PXI chassis. Is there any articles on this I could try out?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(4,795 Views)

@skol45uk wrote: