PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PXI NI vs. Keysight

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all, with the aim to buy a PXI system, I am comparing PXI NI vs. Keysight.  

Does anyone knows the differences? suggestions? preferences?

Prices are very different, ie Keysight looks more expensive, so I guess there will be a why.

The modular chassis USB looks interesting:

http://www.keysight.com/en/pd-823703-pn-U2781A/usb-modular-product-chassis?pm=PL&nid=-33269.384454&c...

and it looks to me that NI does not have an equivalent.

I am not an expert, so any comments from you is appreciate.... Best, P.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,340 Views)

@pogor wrote:

The modular chassis USB looks interesting:

http://www.keysight.com/en/pd-823703-pn-U2781A/usb-modular-product-chassis?pm=PL&nid=-33269.384454&c...

That chassis is NOT PXI.  It is AXI, which from what I have found is an attempt of Keysight to replace PXI.  As far as I know, only Keysight makes AXI modules.

To be honest, I have only used NI PXI chassis and a large majority of the equipment was also NI.  They just seem to work.

Supposedly, NI PXI chassis has more bandwidth, but I have not gone to look at all the specs to compare.  I also am not sure if the Keysight PXIe have the hybrid slots (which will accept PXI and PXIe cards).

What are you trying to test?  What equipment do you need in the chassis?

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 8
(5,321 Views)

Hi,

Years ago I use a Pickering PXI chassis. The choice was made because I needed a large switch matrix. At that time Pickering was ahead off NI.

I still use 2 of those chassis without any problems with Pickering and NI modules.