cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PXI-7833R NI MAX 15.3 issues with alias

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm running into some issues with PXI-7833R cards with LV2015 and MAX 15.3. I have to upgrade my system to LV2015 with MAX 15.3 from LV2011 and MAX 5.4. When I upgrade, the alias' for the RIO (PXI-7833R) are unable to change when in LV2011 and MAX 5.4 they are functioning just fine. They remain PXI1Slot6, PXI1Slot8 etc..when they should be RIO0, RIO1, etc..is there additional configuration when programming these cards? My understanding from other research is that the 7833 cards are obsolete and not supported in LV2015, they have to work somehow with LV2015 though right? I'm kind of new to the card, so there isn't much more I know about them. I just can't communicate with them when they are the PXIXSlotX format. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,352 Views)

Hi Prius2590,

Could you link me to the materials that say it's no longer supported? I haven't found anything to that effect. To my knowledge all you need to interact with that hardware is the FPGA toolkit and the R Series Multifunction RIO drivers. I'll link to the latest version of the driver below:

NI R Series Multifunction RIO 16.0

http://www.ni.com/download/r-series-multifunction-rio-device-drivers-august-2016/6116/en/

Could you link a MAX report for the PXI controller? You can generate one by following the instructions below:

Using MAX Technical Report to Document Measurement & Automation Explorer (MAX) Configuration Information
http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/271F252B4EF0A2E0862570E70056A1E4

Austin
Staff Software Engineer
NI
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,323 Views)

Hi Austin,

The link stating the card is obsolete is below. I realized that it may be just a suggestion by NI to get the latest card, but I still can't find much in supporting material for the 7833R.

link: http://sine.ni.com/nips/cds/view/p/lang/en/nid/202009