PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PXI-6556 multiple waveform dynamic Gen/Acquire "niHSDIO Wait Until Done" timeouts

I'm still learning how to effectively use my PXI-6556 cards, and am attempting to do some automation for writing multiple different waveforms to a DUT.

In this particular program, I am generating four different waveforms, writing them to memory, and then trying to loop through each one. Eventually I will get to reading some data on a serial comm line for my acquisition session, but right now am having trouble controlling the acquisition timing. I have a data active event pushed to PFI1, which serves as my start edge trigger for acquisition. I am also taking the sample size of each generated waveform and configuring the acquisition session to acquire that sample size - which it seems to do properly.

I seem to be able to generate and acquire fine with this program, the problem I'm having is that the niHSDIO "wait until done" function never actually sees a "done" event on either the generation or acquisition events. The function just times out and then throws an error. If I case statement out the "Wait until done" functions and control timing with just a "wait", the program seems to work correctly.

Is there something I'm doing wrong with the generation/acquisition session that is causing this function to not determine when the particular waveform has been generated or acquired?

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,887 Views)

Hi Sloveless,

I was wondering if you can attach a screenshot of the error that you're getting from the .VI?

Also, do you typically know how long the wait should be for the program to work correctly? Will you ever have to change that wait time? 

Thanks!

Aulia V.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,856 Views)

Here's the error. After looking into it some more, I think it might have to do with the waveform actually being too short.