PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI PXI-1033 Is not being recognized by Windows or MAX

I am a technician trying to help out a faculty member who uses this product.  The computer he is trying to connect the NI PXI-1033 Chassis to is brand new running windows vista.  The device doesn't show up in the MAX software, and there seems to be an error in the windows device manager that I am unable to fix.  The problem is very similar to the one discussed in the following thread
http://forums.ni.com/ni/board/message?board.id=270&message.id=3423&query.id=122426#M3423
except that this computer will still boot.  The software has been installed, but the computer is recognizing the device as a standard PCI to PCI bridge, and the known driver for that won't work.  When I try and point to a specific driver in the National Instruments/PXI folder, it still won't work.  Any suggestions would be very helpful.
Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(3,472 Views)

Hi rlwells,

Thank you for contacting National Instruments via our discussion forums.  In order to figure out what the exact issue is, I will need a little more information.  What particular driver are you trying to use, and what version of NI-VISA is on your computer?  Also, what version of MXI are you using (MXI-3,4 or express)?  MXI-3 is actually not supported for Windows Vista, so it will not work.  If you are using MXIexpress, the type of computer is important because only particular ones are compatible.  The following article brushes on many of the common MXI express support issues: http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/websearch/81CBF2F7F0BAEDBD86257330000514DF?OpenDocument