PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have a PXIe-8381 board that is no longer being found in the system. I have a blinking red light on the front panel. This has worked well for about six months.

This system has worked for several months but now is not being found in the automation explorer. As stated the front panel of the module has a blinking red light.  It looks like the led on the express card is solid amber. Can see lights on the side of the card appear green though the holes in the top pane. I am new to PXI most of my NI hardware related experience is with SCXI  I do not know my way around the chassis on the PXI equipment.  Any suggestions on where to start.

Thanks,

Randall

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(6,789 Views)

The first step would be to power down everything, remove the PXIe-8381 from the chassis for a few seconds, plug it back in, then re-power on to see if the issue persists.

The amber LED on the PCIe-8381 indicates that the cable isn't linked, the flashing red indicates that the PXIe-8381 thinks a chassis power rail is out of spec.  Physicall removing it from the chassis (taking away auxiliary power) forces the firmware to reload and could clear the condition.

robert

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(6,787 Views)

Unplugging the chassis for ~30 seconds and watching its LEDs closely can also provide clues to what/if it thinks any of it's power rails are suspect.

robert

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(6,783 Views)