VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VeriStand is duplicating VIs from VI.lib and hence has a potential for conflicts/modifying VIs in LabVIEW <vi.lib>

Just wanted to share some thoughts on VeriStand's interaction with LabVIEW <vi.lib> VIs. 

I have been using VeriStand for a couple of years. I noticed that whenever I build a Custom Device or a new Device Template, the Source Distribution used in the Build process, makes a copy of all LabVIEW VIs that are used, including the VIs installed in the LabVIEW <vi.lib> foIder. This includes very commonly used VIs such as Simple Error Handler.vi etc.

Not only is this duplication of VIs wasteful of memory and disk space, it also has a strong potential for cross-linking, and unintentionally over-writing original VIs in <vi.lib>. I get this screen below once in a while when I have both LabVIEW and VeriStand open.

As a LabVIEW programmer, I have a hard and steadfast rule of never modifying or copying files in <vi.lib> unless I change their names and put them in my project folder. After VeriStand got installed I am afraid the integrity of my <vi.lib> files has been compromised.

Am I missing something here? Am I making some kind of  "VeriStand novice user" mistake? I understand that you can save files with same names as long as they are in separate project libraries (lvlib), but I am not sure that my <vi.lib> files are sufficiently protected due to this constant cross-linking.

Thanks for reading this post.

VeriStand File Conflict.JPG

Certified LabVIEW Developer (since 2005)
LabVIEW Developer since Version 2.0
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(4,372 Views)

Hi LVUser94,

Your understanding is correct.