From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Simulink in Veristand For Dummies

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm still new to Veristand and even newer to Matlab/Simulink...at least their more recent incarnations.  Does anyone know of a good "Simulink for dummies" resource online?  Especially geared for someone who will be needing to build the code in such a way that Veristand can make use of it.  I hesitate to ask for example code, as I frown on that, but I'm really just interested in the methodology, not the code itself.

Dan M.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(9,944 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author thisisnotadream
Hi Dan,

For getting started information you can find very helpful information in the NI VeriStand Help from here and here. The time when we see bigger issues is when an S-function is used that calls into custom code that will not run on a NI Real-Time system (usually a DLL dependency issue). There are times that you might use an add-in into you model that will allow mapping to 3rd party hardware. In that case, you will want to replace the input/outputs with VeriStand In and Out blocks so that you can use VeriStand to map the hardware (for example CAN).

As for specifics with MATLAB® and Simulink® getting started we respectfully defer those questions to The MathWorks, Inc.

MATLAB® and Simulink® are registered trademarks of The MathWorks, Inc. Other product and company names listed are trademarks and trade names of their respective companies.

Joshua B.
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(9,925 Views)