VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Retain user channel value upon system failure or loss of power

Hello,

I'm using VeriStand 2012 with a cRIO-9022 and a pc for programming/workspace functions.

I have a real time sequence setup to cycle a part and increment a counter after each cycle.  The cycle count is included in a logging step.

In the event of a power failure or redeployment of the system definition file, upon restart of the stimulus profile, I would like to load the last known counter value into the user channel.  Is there a method to accomplish this?

I am relatively new to VeriStand and LabView in general.  If there is a method, can you please detail the steps or point me to a resource that outlines the process.

Thank you!

Michael

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,326 Views)

Hey Michael,

When you say you want to load the last known value into the user channel, is this a channel that you are reading as a parameter in your real-time sequence?

This is a neat question. I'm trying to find a solution with only needing to use VeriStand and doesn't require manually setting the channel. My initial thought was to use a startup procedure to set the variable value but, I can't see an easy way to read something from a file as a reference.

I'm moving toward possibly creating a workspace tool, that allows you to load a file and set parameter values using .NET, but I'm not sure if that is the simplest solution. Are you opposed to doing a bit of development in LabVIEW to make this possible?

Tim A.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(6,306 Views)

Hello Tim,

Yes.  I'm using the channel, cycle count, to determine whether the test should continue or stop based on the cycle count channel compared to a channel that contains the total numbers of cycles for the test.