cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Boolean value from VeriStand model to FPGA

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there,

I am quite new to LabVIEW and I have a question regarding FPGA Personality. I am trying to send a boolean value from my model to the FPGA. 

Here is a snapshot from my LV-project:

Capture.PNG

And here is the code from the xml-file:

<DMA_Write>

<Packets>2</Packets>
          <Packet> <!--Packet 1-->
            <U64>
              <Name>Result</Name>
              <Description>Test</Description>
	      <Category>Input</Category>
            </U64>
          </Packet>
		  <Packet> <!--Packet 2-->
            <Boolean>
              <Name>Boolean Value</Name>
              <Category>Input</Category>
            </Boolean>
          </Packet>

So my question how can I access the one bit boolean value from the U64 sent from VeriStand? If i try to use it in VS the boolean value is not sent to the FPGA. I think it is a very fundamental question but I do not know how to solve it.

Thank you!

Regards,

HScho

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,758 Views)

Okay, the code was correct, I did not choose the latest bitfile in the .fpgaconfig XML-file. Smiley Wink So now I can access the boolean value.

But another question: If I get the U64 DMA data from VeriStand and want to write these to a local variable which is linked to a I16 control, how can I realize this? 

Is it correct in this way?

Capture.PNG

Thank you.

HScho

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(6,751 Views)

Above is the screenshot with the working code:

Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(6,724 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author HScho

MHoffmann, I see a couple of problems with your implementation.

1) You're using "Split Number" too many times.  If you take a U64 and split it 3 times, you're left with a U8, which is not enough bits to properly represent an I16.