cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

deployment issues

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I am new to Teststand and have been trying to deploy my Teststand applicatino to a target computer for the past 2 days and have a few questions regarding the process of deployment.

1. I developed my TestStand application on the D drive of my development computer. My target computer has only C drive. In this case, (note: TestExec.ini is also being deployed) I would  always need to:

a) change the search path configuration on the target computer after the deployment, e.g., adding/changing all the relevant paths in the search configuration to start with C drive. or

b) I can also do some tricks, by setting the search configuration to C: in the development computer just for the sake of deployment. This way, the deployment on the target computer will have the right search path (and report files output directory because I specify a fix output report directory). Then I would have to change the search configuration back to D drive for continuing the development on the deveopment computer.

The question is, if I choose a) as deployment strategy, in order to add/change the search configuration on the target computer, I will need a development teststand license. If I download a development teststand (as evaluation) on the target computer, after the add/change of the search configuration on the target computer, I would turn off the development Teststand and switch the license to base deployment license on the target computer, this will do it, right?