NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

any software solution when the quantity of the testing engineers is far less than the quantity of the product engineer?

I am a testing engineer, and I now am maintaining a software platform which has the following features:

1. the platform provides very simple interface and abstraction to the user--a language which we call it marco language, like POWER ON means power on, and POWER VSET, NAME, 15V means that set the voltage of the signal "Name" to 15V, the connection between the name and the specific hardware detail(like the handle and the channel number) is configure by a ini file, during the initialize of the software, the ini will be read, and all the mapping details will be read into memory.

The reason why we use this structure is because that there are far more product engineers than testing engineers(200product guys and ony 11 tesing guys),  if we use teststand,  I think we will be busy writing the teststand sequence files. 

The problem of this software platform is that the marco instructions is very limited in functionality, no programming features like looping and variable. And also, the guy who write the software has resigned, it will be a diaster if we just add more features to it without understanding teh detailed structure from the scratch.

The NI salesman kept telling me that we should use teststand, But I think it will be way diffcult for the product engineers to write the sequence files. So, our man concern is that we testing engineer should only build a software structure that can decoupling the test and the product guy. 

Any help will be highly appreicated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,442 Views)

Will the product engineers be modifying existing sequences or writing new ones from scratch?

Charlie Rodway | Principal Software Engineer | Certified TestStand Architect (CTA)

Computer Controlled Solutions Ltd | NI Silver Alliance Partner | GDevCon#1 Sponsor

0 Kudos