What is the use of local object refrence variable

Hai...

I am a beginner in teststand....
Could u please tell me what is the use of below local variables
1) Object Refrence
2)Types
     a) Path
     b) Expressions

and how to use those variables......I will be happy if u explained with example code......

Thankyou

Regards
Rajesh G
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,672 Views)

Howdy Rajesh,

Since you are a beginner in TestStand you don't want to get far ahead of yourself as there is a lot of features in TestStand that if you jump into to soon can be confusing.

I would strongly suggest taking our TestStand I && II course as they will make your TestStand journey much easier.  I would also recommend walking through our TestStand Reference Manual  (Help >> Search the TestStand Bookshelf; Notice a bunch of reference guides) which contains answers to a bunch of beginner questions such as the one you are asking and takes you through TestStand basics and some advanced features.  In particular, Chapter 14 entitle "Standard and Custom Data Types" discusses your questions. 

As an overview of what you will be reading in terms of your questions, TestStand contains sequences that contains local variables.  Sequences can have any number of local variables, which you can use to hold values that you get or set in step modules. You can also use local variables for maintaining counts, for holding intermediate values, or any other purpose.

One of those local variables is an Object Reference that contains a reference to a .NET or ActiveX/COM object. It can be equated to pointers in most programming languages.