From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best method to manage a digital I/O board from TestStand?

Hello,

I'm a beginner with TestStand (3.5).
I want to create some Step types in CVI to write/read to a digital I/O board (PCI6509).
What is the best way to do this?
I don't know if it is better to build 2 big groups (i.e 48 input / 48output) and read/write all simultaneeusly or drive the lines one by one.

I would like to create a reusable code, also for multithreading.

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks

baloss

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,235 Views)
Hi Baloss,

Teststand is a Test Sequenzer. So the functions you want to realize are written in CVI for instance. The way you organize your steps depends on what kind of reports you want to have, Loops you want to realize and so on.

For Example, if you want to test a special Hardware with Outputs 1-5 and resulting signals from Inputs 1-10 and a second hardware with Outputs 6-11 to drive the hardware and resulting signals from Inputs 11-48, than you would use 2 Steps - one for each Hardware. Due this you can create a Report or Test  for every Hardware and you can reuse the Steps to retest the Hardware Components on a different Position.

I hope this is what you ment.

Regards,
Stefan Henke
NIG
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,208 Views)

Hi Stefan,

I'm quite familiar with DAQmx acquisition used in a CVI executable.

What it is not so clear to me is to how to split the DIO operations for a TestStand sequence.

For example, I can:

• build a step for the configuration of one DIO (this means call 96 of these steps for a PCI-6509)
  • build a step for the read operation (line by line)
  • build a step for the write operation (line by line)