From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using TestStand as a sequencer in a LabVIEW application

To start off, this is what I would consider to be a "high level" question.  I'm not looking for specifics but rather generalities.

I am mainly a LabVIEW developer.  I'm working on an application that is going to need to allow the user to set up multiple different dynamic sequences... almost to the level of a scripting language.  I looked in to several methods to code this myself, but it isn't trivial.  Then, I started researching TestStand....

The way I imagine this working is that I will primarily control the hardware I/O, the graphical interface, etc with LabVIEW.  I will write a simple API (in VI form) for some of the complex functions that the user will need to implement and they can set up their sequences in TestStand.  Within my LabVIEW application they can select the sequence(s) to run, and in what order and then TestStand takes over and executes the sequence.

Which leads me to my questions:  Is TestStand the way to go?  Is this the right solution? Will it be simple enough, and can I learn the integration in the time allocated?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,569 Views)

Is TestStand the way to go?  YES Is this the right solution? Sort Of Will it be simple enough, and can I learn the integration in the time allocated? Not sure what your time line is

TestStand is a test executive as well as a scripting language.  There are so many components that make up TestStand, all of which are customizable to meet your needs.

If your goal is to make it simple for someone to throw together scripts then Custom Steps might be the right solution.