From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understand C# code for TestStand User Interface

I thought I am an experienced C# developer, but when I opened the TestStand Simple User Interface in the C# solution in the following folder, I was lost.

\National Instruments\TestStand 4.2.1\UserInterfaces\Simple\CSharp

I have read through Chapter 9 (Create Custom User Interfaces) in NI TestStand Reference Manual. It helps me a little bit, but I still don't quite understand how the C# code works.

For example, in design view (refer to screen-shot 1), the button "ENTRY POINT1" has no event handle associated with it. When I ran the program, this caption of this button changed to "Test UUTs" (refer to screen-shot 2). And after I loaded a sequence file, and click this button "Test UUTs", the sequence carried out its tasks happilly just like ran from the Sequence Editor. How did this magic happen?

I appreciate If someone can point me a step by step tutorial to explain the mechanism more friendly rather than the description in the reference manual (that must be for advanced users, unfortunately, I am not for now).

Thanks,
Leo

Screen-shot 1

screen-shot-01.jpg

Screen-shot 2

screen-shot-02.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(5,469 Views)

Leo,

the reason is that this button is no C# button, but an ActiveX container containing a specific TestStand component (type: "Visible control 'Button'").

Therefore, this container already encapsulated a lot of functionality, which is "running in parallel to your C# application".

In order to make your UI work correctly with the container, you have to "connect" the control to a specific function. This is done in the code line: